Journal52: Weeks 3 & 4

No, I’m not petering out (I don’t think); I just didn’t really like how my pages came out for these weeks, so I waited until there were two spreads that I was unhappy with instead of just one. Heh. That makes sense, right? (No!)

Anyway, the Week 3 prompt was “Conversation Starters“.  I deviated from that, not using a conversation I overheard, but instead trying to make a page about a conversation/relationship that’s been weighing on me for a while.

IMG_6525

It came out just as ugly as it feels.  Which I guess is fitting. I did some stacked journaling in the background, then made the letters out of that. It makes me realize that I really want to work on my lettering. Some details:  IMG_6527

 

IMG_6526

The prompt for Week 4 was “silhouettes“, my favorite of which is the silhouettes of the trees outside my window against the winter sky.

IMG_6528

The winter sky is something that I’ve always wanted to figure out how to portray, a feeling of cold light that I have struggled to communicate in word or image, but I think I’m getting closer here. I’m liking the subtle swirls of pale yellow. What I’m not liking is the way the trees look big & clumsy, hand-like instead of….well, tree-like. I just can’t seem to get the hang of the way the branches angle off the trunk. Any advice out there?

IMG_6530

I also really wanted to add a prayer that I just love, but I cannot find correct attribution yet, and I don’t want to publish it anywhere without correct attribution. So that’s have to wait until I can do a little more research.

Onto Week 5!

One thought on “Journal52: Weeks 3 & 4

Leave a Reply

