Pamphlet Stitch Journals

When I made my Journal52, I tried pamphlet stitch, and I wasn’t entirely happy with it.  Nevertheless, I was reading The Little Book of Book Making by Charlotte Rivers, and got inspired to try again.

IMG_7168[1]

 

I was much happier with the results this time. I think it helped that I followed the written tutorial AS I bound the book, and not from my shabby memory. This journal took me several failed attempts, wherein I made the duct tape spine too narrow, the tissue paper & cardboard covers did not come out the way I wanted, and I grew disenchanted with the cardstock I used for the signatures. Still, a good low-stakes “practice” run, and my plan was only ever to keep it in the car, so I’d always have something to doodle on. I’m sure it’ll do just fine.

IMG_7171[1]

That came together with such quickness & such little fuss that I decided to try pamphlet stitch for the “higher stakes” journal I was planning to make.  I used a lovely San Francisco-themed gift bag (over cardboard) as the cover for this one: IMG_7173[1]

 

The pamphlet stitch came together quickly again, and I’m happy with the results. I gave this one to my husband David, who recently expressed an interest in art journaling with me. It has some nice watercolor paper.

 

IMG_7169[1]

 

I feel like it’s two new art journals for the “price” (time) of one. But I think I still like the look of long stitch better. Thank goodness there’s a whole world of stitches out there!

IMG_7175[1]

Leave a Reply

