Art Journal Flip Part 3

Well, how’s this for fitting–I ended up with some unfinished business on Unfinished Business! I shared a flip, part 1, and a flip, part 2, and then our computer went on the fritz and I didn’t get back here to share the final part 3 til now. So here we go!

I’m not sure where I first heard of this technique, but it’s a little like scrying with paint: you make wet-on-wet blobs and then when it’s dry, see what you can see.  This was just the colors, no black, when I saw a face first (I think that’s what the brain wants to go to), then the greater shape of somebody kneeling. Pretty sure I was reading a Terry Pratchett book at the time too, so I had wizards on my mind. And there we are.

 

These are my attempts at sigils. Heh.

Another wet-on-wet experiment, this time with a plan to doodle some flowers. The words came to me later, when thinking on a problem.

 

IMG_7003

 

Some more stacked journaling. I love how this came out, with the watercolor heart translucent through the writing. It seems a little bare, like legible words should be on there too, but I couldn’t find any at the time. Unfinished business, I tell you.

IMG_7002

I painted a little glass figurine that I’ve played with at my grandmother’s for years. Decades. And it just occurred to me recently, long after I knew who Bast was, that it was not “just a cat”.

IMG_7001

So, as you can tell, I’m constantly trying new things, testing my footing, looking for my path, insert metaphor here. I haven’t “found my style” yet, but I will say, this is one of my favorite types of art journal spreads, “The Hodgepodge”:

IMG_7000

Again, I felt like there should be some words, but damned if I knew what they were. In the meantime, I blocked out where they should go, and the paint smeared to my face.

IMG_6999

 

 

 

 

Obviously out of order! This alien was an acrylic “intuitive painting”, and he was supposed to be cleverly looking through a telescope, but instead it sort of looks like he’s putting a needle in his eye. Which, eek.

IMG_6996

 

 

 

IMG_6998

A playing around page that was inspired by a long-ago post by iHanna.

IMG_6995

I painted one of my grandmother’s chairs, then added some catalog decorations I liked that happened to be hanging in front of a window. So, I drew a room around them, and no room is complete around these parts without a cat, this one cut from a Tomie dePaola book.

IMG_6994

 

IMG_6991

 

IMG_6990

Well, that’s about all the pages worth sharing from Unfinished Business. Of course, there are lots more that are, of course, unfinished. If I ever revisit, I’ll be sure to update you. Til next time!

3 thoughts on “Art Journal Flip Part 3

Leave a Reply

