Art Journaling Lately

Hello to anyone who found this through Julie Balzer’s Art Journal Every Day linky list! Here are some things I’ve been working on in my art journal:

 

Half-finished watercolor building…Not sure that I really enjoy working on buildings. I want to, but I don’t. Hrmmm…

 

IMG_7674[1]

 

I also tried to draw some flowers, both from life and then just doodling. In the still life, I eventually gave up drawing with the pencil and just used the brush to paint directly. I liked that better.

IMG_7676[1]

Pattern! Now patterns I love! I used the tape on the right to inspire the doodle on the left.

IMG_7675[1]

I really like looking for pattern inspiration in things that are not necessarily already purposely patterns. Like this picture of fish in National Geographic:

IMG_7682[1]

 

Which inspired this pattern:

IMG_7678[1]

IMG_7679[1]
Again, “just” doodling.

I’ve been doing a more conscious study of tree structure, since my clumsy, hand-like attempt for Journal 52 Week 4. Also, trying to figure out a good blue using the cheaper watercolors I currently have.

IMG_7677[1]

 

And I tried to get to the point where I could draw a tree from memory, but still, not quite there. But this one is going to be covered with wrapping paper leaves, so it doesn’t matter quite so much:

IMG_7680[1]

What are you working on?

Leave a Reply

