iHanna’s Postcard Swap Time!

IMG_7865[1]

Hello, indeed! Happy Spring, everyone! It’s official. And you know how I know? Because iHanna’s DIY Postcard Swap is up!

I started with a piece of posterboard that I’d previously used as a sign. I knew I was saving that for something! It’s a good weight for postcards, I thought.

Then I started playing with paint. I challenged myself to start with a color I didn’t really like that I wanted to work its way out of my stash–a coral pink. But with black, and a deeper red, and some tan, it’s a lot better!

IMG_7638[1]

Made it a little more interesting, with some stamped circles, and some green accent mark-making, scribbled some writing in white colored pencil on the black, added a couple pieces of collage…

IMG_7639[1]

Now that’s a good place to start!

So I cut that into 4×6 postcards, each one its own unique backdrop. Then I worked in series. I had a set of photographs of a ship being built, and came up with this series from those photos:

IMG_7861[1]

It’s all really a process, isn’t it? And for the rest (I ended up with way more than 10, so I’ll be sending some bonus postcards to friends), I practiced my lettering with a simple message:

 

IMG_7862[1]

IMG_7863[1]

IMG_7864[1]

Ahhh, a fresh stack of happy mail almost ready to go…

IMG_7867[1]

And still more scraps to play with later!

IMG_7866[1]

Wanna sign up too? Visit iHanna’s DIY Postcard Swap before May 20th (that’s Wednesday!) and get ready to see some mailbox action! It’s a $7 fee, and totally worth it, because since people are paying, and Hanna is working so hard on the swap, you’re pretty much guaranteed to get your postcards. I’ve had a 100% return rate. And Hanna also offers freebies, like printable backs, techniques, and tons of other resources & inspirations.  So go celebrate spring!

13 thoughts on “iHanna’s Postcard Swap Time!

  1. These are fantastic, and I loved seeing the step-by-step process you showed off! And how fun that you ended up with extras to send out too.

    1. Thank you for the signal boost! I’ve been working hard on my little blog, encouraged in no small part by you. I’m not sure if you got my email, but I lost your snail mail (postcard) address, so if you could resent it when you get a chance to coldinaugust at gmail dot com, I’ll make sure to get a postcard in the mail to you!

  2. Your postcard was the first one to arrive. Beautiful art. Thanks so much (I could not find an email address on the card. regards…Maria..

  3. Hi Aime, did you receive a postcard from me? I have not heard from any of the people I sent postcards to and I am afraid they are lost? Could you please let me know? Thanks! http://Www.leada_w@hotmail.com is my email. I would appreciate hearing one way or another if you got it or not.
    Leada

    1. Hi, Leada! I did, and thank you! I’m planning a post on all the postcards I received, and I was going to send a link in my thank-you emails, but you beat me to it 😉 I’ll send a link your way when it’s “live”, probably either tomorrow or Wednesday. Thank you so much!

      xo,
      Ami

  4. Hi Ami,
    I could not find an email for your card, so will leave a comment here.
    Thank you so much for your postcard! My husband and I really got a chuckle out of “It’s a process,”
    the boat building card:)
    Linda

Leave a Reply

