Journal52: Week 20

All caught up on my Journal52, so this week there’s only one spread, and it’s the current prompt–Good Advice. I’m pretty sure I got this from Austin Kleon’s Steal Like An Artist, but I’m also pretty sure other people have said it before, too. Probably because it’s such good advice.

IMG_7876

This art thing, I feel compelled to make art, and I don’t even know why. Honestly, I don’t like a lot of my stuff. I’m still in that phase Ira Glass talks about in his now-famous good advice on creativity & good taste,  that I know what I like but I don’t quite yet have the skills to produce it. It’s why everything I do looks so different, why I keep trying new techniques, throwing everything at the wall and seeing what sticks. There’s a lot of work to be done to get there, and it’s important to me, so I keep showing up and doing the work.  Someday I’ll find my footing, and this blog will be around to document the journey. Or thoroughly embarrass me. Or both. We’ll see!

Leave a Reply

