Put a paper pieced bird on it!

I wasn’t interested in paper piecing when I first learned about it. It wasn’t until I saw the book Backyard Bird Quilts by Jodie Davis that I was really inspired to give it a go.

Of course, I like to learn things the hard way. When I first started quilting, I was VERY resistant to pressing. I would try to finger press, or just not care about lumpy seams, and I don’t think it was until I tried paper piecing that I was sold. I just didn’t see how an iron could fit into a hobby. I tried my first bird, the simple cardinal pattern, without ironing, then with, and lo & behold, there’s a reason to haul out the iron!

That first one migrated south to the garbage can, but I saved the second for a gift for a friend, a tote bag:

img_2625

I loved how it made such a big impact on the tote. The grey chambray was gorgeous, and I love that bold geometric fabric, but I wish I’d used a nicer lining. The material was like the stuff a cheap tie is made of. Not a good feel, and unpleasant to work with. Even though I had a whole swag curtain length left (its former life), I threw it in the thrift store pile because it was so yucky to work with.

img_2629

My next backyard bird was the blue jay, inspired by our recent birdfeeder visitor. Still not sure where he’s going to land…

img_29921

I thought about using it as the focal point of this something-in-progress, a bunch of improve light neutral blocks I’ve done, but I’m as yet undecided. Care to weigh in?

 

Leave a Reply

